• Select your website


First, a national competition is organised in each participating country with a national theme. The laureates are selected by an independent jury made up of experts from different fields.

The international final then gathers the national juries’ Presidents to determine the International Award laureate among all the National Award laureates. Additionally, the Altran community and the general public also vote for the Innovation Makers Award.

Award Agenda
Award Agenda

Discover the National Awards 'themes since 2012 in each participating country.


2012 : Technological Innovation for a Smarter Mobility

2013 : Technological innovation for safe, sustainable & healthy food

2014 :  -


2012 : Technological Innovation and chronic diseases

2013 :  -

2014 : Technological Innovation and cancer



2012 : Bio engineering and stem cells: ideas for life

2013 : Waste to Energy

2014 : Smart cities & Citizenship


2012 : Innovation and technology promoting social inclusion

2013: Innovating for a more sustainable world

2014Technological innovation & telemedicine


2012 : Technological Innovation and sustainable mobility

2013 : Smart Sports

2014 : -

United Kingdom

Since 2012, the theme in the United Kingdom is "Intelligent System". Indeed Altran UK sponsors the 'Intelligent Systems' category of the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Innovation Awards, which promote the very best innovations in science, technology and engineering every year.


2012: Intelligent System - laureate:TrackSafe

2013: Intelligent System - laureate: OrganOx

2014: Intelligent System - laureate will be announced in November

In 2012, the Foundation changed the organisation of its competition. From 1996 to 2008, the Altran Foundation for Innovation organised annually a single international competition with changing themes every year.

Reward: skills sponsorship

The Foundation offers the laureates a reward that is innovative in itself: support for the project from a team of engineers from the Altran Group.

This technological support may cover any of the steps and areas related to the project: development of the technologies, design, industrialisation, intellectual property, project management, cost optimisation, the search for partners, marketing, communication, etc. Altran's expertise in innovation and engineering consulting is a unique opportunity for the candidates. This enables them to give shape to their idea and transform their project into an industrial reality.

An independent jury

The Altran Foundation for Innovation entrusts national juries the task of selecting a laureate from among the candidates. The jury is made up of experts selected according to the suitability of their skills for the theme chosen; specialists from research, politics, teaching, industry, etc., or persons recognised for their position as a leader in innovation, etc.

Some examples of jury presidents from previous competitions:

  • Vigdís Finnbogadottir in 2002 - first female President of Iceland.
  • Philippe Busquin in 2004 - former European Commissioner for Research.
  • Jean-Luc Dehaene in 2005 - former Prime Minister of Belgium.
  • Corinne Lepage in 2006 - French Minister for the Environment from 1995 to 1997 and President of CAP 21 (Citizenship Action Participation for the 21st century).
  • Pierre Tambourin in 2007 - Managing Director of Genopole®, Vice-President of the Competitiveness department at the Medicen competitiveness cluster.
  • Léopold Demiddeleer in 2008 - Director of Corporate R&D & New Business Development, Solvay.

2014 Awards